Home

Be wary of anyone asking for money though online dating sites

Filed under:

Our latest scam alert comes to us from our reader Debra. What happened to Debra is an important reminder to everyone to never give money to anyone you meet online, and particularly someone you have never met in person:

I met a man on Match.com and loaned him $5,000 to purchase hardwood flooring with a promise to pay me back in 2 days when he received the P.O.for payment.

This was in April 2007 and he took out bankruptcy, but promised to pay me back in an email.  Because of the bankruptcy I can no longer call him or ask about the money he owes me!!!!

Scams such as these are rampant in online communites like Match.com.  If you are presented with a request for money from someone you met online, be very wary of their intentions.  If you do give your money away, be sure you understand that you may lose it, and make sure that you can afford to lose it.  Chances are it is a scam.

Thanks again Debra for the scam alert!




Reader Comments:

I too have been in contact

I too have been in contact with a widow who is supposedly in Nigeria on business. Just yesterday someone else I was chatting with started in with the son in the hospital bit and doctor needs cash to do surgery. I immediately saw red flags and told the scammer that I was tracing the chat. He/she immediately signed off and haven't heard from him since. I am very suspicious of the other man I've been chatting with due to his evading some simple questions, waiting for him to come online so I can ask a few "trick" questions about where he supposedly lives- I know the city quite well. Will keep you updated on what I find out.



I got 2 emails from alleged

I got 2 emails from alleged widowed men. Similar stories. Both worked in construction. Both had a child they are raising alone. One claims to live in Paris, France, but is of Spanish descent. The other claims to be from Ft. Lauderdale area. neither has asked for money, yet. I am very leery, and I know I should be. I am playing along- waiting for the big question. Yes, both men claim their undying love for me, and devotion for a lifetime. I will update you on these stories. Both are on singlesnet.com HELLLLPPPPP!!!!



After being on Singlesnet

After being on Singlesnet for a several months and finding very few "real" and nice candidates there, I thought I would go to eHarmony.com to search for people that were more like me in values, intelligence, education, priorities, etc. I have been on eHarmony just one week and I have received correspondence from 6 different (well possibly) men whose wives died in childbirth. They also have a U.S. city address, yet, they two are in the U.K. and one is working as an oil rigging manager in Nigeria. The profiles of two other men on this site were exactly the same and their note to me was almost word for word the same. I reported this to eHarmony. Now I have another man who's wife also died in childbirth, he lives in the UK with his two kids, and attended Leeds for a year degree, and yet the sentence structure, punctuation and use of words is difficult to understand. It would appear that this guy MAYBE has a high school education according to what he writes. I find it very hard to believe that so many men are also widows from childbirth. The hard part is detecting who is fibbing with who is real.....



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.